What in the world?

By: Jconnphoto

Aug 18 2010

Tags: ,

Category: Uncategorized

1 Comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:90mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day five, August 18, 2010

Do you ever look around a nature and wonder how in the world things take the shapes that they do?  I am no gardener.  Believe me, I have tried.  Every spring I get the itch to plant some stuff but that’s as far as I get.  If I have to weed it, fertilize it, or trim it, you can forget it.  I’m a perennial kind of girl.  I can manage the basics, if it doesn’t require much attention I can usually grow it and keep it alive.  My mother in-law left behind some pretty special plants.  I can’t honestly say I’ve done my best to keep them up but the ones that take care of themselves have persevered.  That includes the dark purple and white clematis plant just off our deck.  The flowers bloom large and beautiful in June and continue into July.  I have heard they’re supposed to continue into the fall but it beats me how I’m supposed to achieve that!  Last year I noticed these spirally/spidery looking things growing in the clematis leaves and thought for sure I had messed something up.  Lucky enough for me they came back this year so now I know it wasn’t me, it was just the plant.  Apparently when the blooms fall off the clematis this is what is left behind.  Whether or not I am supposed to to trim these off (dead-head??) I have no idea.  But they are so neat looking I usually just leave them.  But a quick glance at these leaves you saying “what in the world?….”.    Oh, and I apologize for posting 2 black and whites in a row but sometimes the subject just warrants it.

One comment on “What in the world?”

  1. Another great shot. Looks like something under water or Sci-fi.


Leave a Reply

