Stonewall

By: Jconnphoto

Aug 16 2010

Category: Uncategorized

3 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:55mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/200 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day two, August 15, 2010

I am fortunate enough to live on one of the most scenic, beautiful roads on Hampden, MA.  My street is a busy version (it is a cut-thru from Hampden to Wilbraham) of a typical country road (albeit, paved).  The road is lined with stone walls, some overgrown, some tumbled into the drainage ditch, and some well maintained by those who have the spare change to pay a mason to perform the lost art of building a stone wall.  I drive this road every day and can’t count the number of times I have thought “Gee, I wish I had my camera”.  There are times in the late spring I drive up through the mist and feel as though I’m driving towards another world.  I grew up in the Indian Orchard section of Springfield, MA.  While I certainly wouldn’t call my neighborhood part of the city, it is a far cry from the country life I have embraced over the last 2 years living in Hampden. I am sure I’ll post a lot of pictures from my street because with the challenge of this blog I don’t really plan to leave my camera at home all that often.  So today my husband took our son on a quick quad ride up the power line.  I grabbed the chance to take my daughter on a walk up the street.   I love the texture and harshness of the stone walls that some how lends towards a romance of curves and tones.

3 comments on “Stonewall”

  1. What a great site, many read inspirational messages daily, I’m going to view your blog. Viewing the stone wall brought back so many tranquil memories I have tucked away of my many years in Hampden. Just standing looking out the window of the open fields, kids picking wild flowers and the wildlife that occasionally stopped by to munch. Keep up the good work and I look forward to many more glimpses of my past. Thanks for sharing.

  2. […] I mentioned in my Stonewall post, I live on an extremely picturesque street.  I drive or walk past this country shed almost […]

  3. […] Stonewall August 2010 2 comments 4 […]


Leave a Reply

