Near miss

By: Jconnphoto

Aug 16 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4.5
Focal Length:17mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Photo blog day three August 16, 2010

It is amazing in life how often you barely miss something.   Both good and bad.  One number off on your scratch ticket (boy that would’ve been GOOD), looking up just in time to slam on your breaks after you’ve been playing with the radio or (gasp) texting while driving (BAD).  Life is full of these kinds of moments and they are out of your mind as soon as they pass.  For the person who doesn’t have a near miss their life changes in a single moment.  Today while on my lunch break I stepped out to the Quadrangle in Springfield and walked around downtown a bit taking images of the newly installed 6 ft tall basketball sneakers.  Those images came out great but at the end of the day a late summer afternoon came roaring through parts of Hampshire and Hampden (possibly Franklin??) county.  It rained for all of 5 minutes in Springfield and Hampden and we were all left wondering what the fuss was about (a thunderstorm warning had come on before I went outside).  But in Northampton some streets were flooded and cars were stalled in 2ft deep puddles (why would they try to drive through that?!?).  I saw the roiling clouds and ran out to the top balcony of the building in which I work.  I grabbed some great shots of the clouds.  As I was driving home thinking about which image I would post I was listening to the news, full of troubling things and disappointments.  It got me thinking about the near misses I have had in my life.  This storm caused me no trouble, in fact I got some great images as the clouds passed over.  But for those people in Northampton their entire afternoon changed for the worse.  This is only a simple example of how life can change in an instant but it certainly made me thankful for the simple “near misses”, well, at least the bad ones.

Leave a Reply

