Lenspiration

By: Jconnphoto

Aug 16 2010

Category: Uncategorized

2 Comments

Aperture:f/5
Focal Length:55mm
ISO:125
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 40D

Day One of Photo Blog

I am new to blogging so bear with me here.  I love photography.  No, really.  I love photography.  Unfortunately, my wallet does not love the cost of photography.  So, after shooting digital photography using kit lenses for nearly 4 years I decided it was about time to upgrade.  Now, I’m not someone who parts with cash readily.  I spent weeks, no, months, hemming, hawing, and harrumphing over lenses.  On Friday, August 13, 2010 I finally got it into my head that I was gonna do it, buy the lenses.  At the same time I made this decision I was checking out a site of a guy I had found selling a used lens on Craigslist: www.chrisdionphotodesign.com On his blog he has a link to “Live 365” Chris started a blog on which he will post a new photo for 365 days.  This got me thinking about how I could prove to myself (and my husband) that the lenses I was about to buy were worth the money.  Now here’s where it gets weird.  I was watching Julie & Julia, in the movie the character Julie was starting her blog.  She started it on August 13th!  That was just weird.  But it really got me thinking that I should do this.  So here I am, posting photos.  I am going to try to do a photo daily, like Chris, however I can’t be certain I will be as successful as he has been.  So here is the story of day ONE.

I went to a Piepul’s camera shop on Center Street Chicopee, MA.  I had called earlier in the week and spoke at length with Peter who was incredibly helpful.  After he took my credit card from my sweaty palms and successfully swiped it through his card reader Peter handed me a bag.  In that bag was a Canon 17-55mm f2.8 lens and a Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 OS II lens.  After buckling my daughter back into her car seat I headed to South Hadley to pick up my BFF and we decided to go to Northampton for some lunch.  I was “lenspired” by my new lenses I wanted to shoot everything that I saw.  We walked around town for a while and I was clicking away.  Finally, I saw these lights hanging from a restaurant awning and the colors just really grabbed me.  The restaurant was closed so I grabbed a chair and stood on that to get a higher vantage point.  An older man stopped to see what we were doing and joked about my “serious looking camera” and about how he might be in the CIA (weird, but secretly I was smiling that someone would notice my camera).  So, here. we. go!

2 comments on “Lenspiration”

  1. Jessica,
    I just finished catching up on your blog and your photos are great. I wanted to thank you so much for the shout out, and I truly am honored, and humbled to be such an inspiration to this project. It has changed the way I look at commitment and photography. Keep at everything you are doing, seek new forms of inspiration and follow where ever your mind, feet and camera take you…see it, shot it!
    Chris
    ChrisDionPhotoDesign.com

  2. […] Lenspiration August 2010 1 comment 3 […]


Leave a Reply

